A Christmas Scarf

Busy with finals and trying to finish Christmas presents, it has been a while since my last update :-/

I have discovered that knitting in the round on very small needles makes my hands and wrists very unhappy. I’m thinking of trying out some “crafter’s gloves” or arthritis gloves. If anyone has any suggestions on which of those work best, I’d be very interested!

Last year my boyfriend’s sister expressed interest in a Gryffindor scarf from Harry Potter, so I figured that would be the easiest and quickest present to get done. Putting the sweater on hold, as well as a lace shawl I am trying to make (that’s a whole ‘nother post right there), I began feverishly knitting this scarf. I had no idea how much it was going to hurt my hands trying to work on it.

Either way, it’s finished now. Took me 5 days of working on it almost non-stop. Then I noticed, looking back at pictures from the movie, that I did not have the stripes exactly to scale as I would have hoped. I was following the pattern I had, but a larger needle size or a few more rows would have helped it to be more accurate and a little longer. They should be a little more square in shape. Ce la vi!

005

010

012

014

One comment on “A Christmas Scarf

Leave a Reply

